Archive for September 5th, 2021

My “Literary” Boss

September 5, 2021

DO YOU STEREOTYPE NAVY OFFICERS…?

Many people tend to stereotype Navy Officers (and Sailors).

They feel that all Navy Officers are like the quintessential Captain Haddock

Actually – the opposite is true.

The Navy has a diverse variety of individuals.

In the Navy – you will find that there are officers and sailors with different types of personalities, attributes and characters – right across the spectrum.

Yes – I came across many unforgettable characters during my long career in the Navy.

One such unique character was my “Literary” Boss.

_________

Humor in Uniform

MY “LITERARY” BOSS

Unforgettable Memories of My Wonderful Navy Life

A Spoof By Vikram Karve

__________

When I was in the Navy – I once had a “Literary” Boss.

You may be surprised – since you may think that “faujis” have their brains in their boots.

But – I came across plenty of accomplished creative persons in the Navy – writers, artists, cartoonists, singers, musicians, dramatists, actors, painters, photographers etc.

Of course – I have seen many such talented persons in the Army and Air Force too.

One such person I came across during my Naval Career – was my “Literary” Boss.

After our customary Monday morning meeting – I said to my “Literary” Boss:

“Sir – I hope you haven’t forgotten about the “open mic” session on Friday evening…”

__________

I was referring to the “open mic” session at the Kala Ghoda Arts and Literary Festival which was going on nearby at Rampart Row.

__________

My Boss looked at me and said:

“Of course – I will be there to read my poetry – and – I am keen to hear poems of all the poets too…”

__________

“I have already sent our names, Sir – we will get 10 minutes each. The venue is the David Sassoon Library Gardens – it is opposite the Jehangir Art Gallery. The event starts at 6 PM in the evening…” I said.

“You take me there – pick me up from my office on Friday evening – I will bring my “civvies” along – and – we will walk down there…” he said.

_________

On Friday morning – my Boss called me to his office.

He asked me to sit down and said to me:

“Do me a favour – can you read my poems this evening at the Poetry Reading Session…?”

_________

Before I could speak – my Boss handed me a diary – and he said to me:

“I have flagged three of my best poems – but you can choose a few more – if there is time.”

__________

I was quite surprised and I wanted to know the reason why he wasn’t coming to the Literary Festival.

“What’s wrong, Sir – why aren’t you coming yourself…? Don’t you want to read your own poems…?” I asked him.

“Of course I want to be there and read my poems – and – I want to hear all the poets too. But something important has come up – so – I cannot come to the Kala Ghoda Festival this evening…” he said.

“Sir – what can be more important than this poetry session – especially for a poet like you…?” I asked him.

“Some bloody delegation has come – and – there is a cocktail party for them…” he said.

“I know, Sir – the circular came on Wednesday – but I am skipping the cocktail party…” I said.

“You can skip it – but – I cannot skip it. After all – I am a bloody Admiral – and – my absence will be conspicuous. In fact – I did try to wriggle out – but COS said that C-in-C wants all Flag Officers to attend…” my Boss, a Rear Admiral, said to me – looking quite disappointed.

________

Next morning my Boss called me to his office – and – he wanted to know all about the Poetry Reading Session.

I told him everything – what an enriching literary experience it had been – and – I told him how much his poems had been appreciated.

“Sir – I wish you were there at the Poetry Reading Session – poets and “literary” people had come from all over the world – and – there was such excellent poetry being read – and – Sir – so many Poets wanted to meet you and discuss your poems…” I said.

“I wish I had been there…” he said, disappointment writ on his face.

“How was the cocktail party…?” I asked, trying to cheer him up.

“It was like all monotonous official cocktail parties – bloody waste of time – the same meaningless “shop talk” – and do you know – all the while – during the boring party – I was thinking of you enjoying in the “Kala Ghoda Festival”…” he said.

“Never mind, Sir – maybe next year…” I said.

“Who knows where I will be next year…? If they don’t promote me – I may even retire this year and go to my hometown. I am really regretting that I missed this “once in a lifetime” chance…” he said, with disappointment.

He looked quite dejected – so – I did not say anything.

My “Literary” Boss looked at me – and he said to me:

“You are lucky – you can still do whatever you want to do – you can enjoy your leisure was you wish – but – ever since I became a senior officer – I have lost control of how to spend my time.”

He had a wistful expression on his face as he said these words to me.

_______

As I walked back to my office – I wondered about the irony of the situation.

Though he was the Boss – he did not have any control on how to spend his time.

On the other hand – though I was not a “Big Boss” – I had control on my time to a much larger extent.

And – it was this loss of control on his time that was making the Boss unhappy.

___________

MORAL OF THE STORY

___________

This rather trivial incident taught me one thing:

If you want to be happy – you must take control of the way you spend your time.

_______

Yes – if you want to be happy you must take control of the way you spend your time.

Once you have taken control of your time – you are free to spend your time in doing those things that make you happy.

_________

So – the “Moral of the Story” is simple:

The ultimate test of true freedom is when you have complete control of your time.

_________

It is true – isn’t it…?

The Ultimate Test of True Freedom is when you have Complete Control of your Time.

_______

So – Dear Reader:

Gaining Control over your Time is the First Step towards Freedom and Happiness.

_________

Dear Reader – Do you agree…?

_________

PS:

One positive aspect of the COVID Lockdown and Stay-at-Home was that it has helped us gain control of our time – albeit with restrictions on how to use that time.

_________

VIKRAM KARVE

Copyright © Vikram Karve
1. If you share this post, please give due credit to the author Vikram Karve
2. Please DO NOT PLAGIARIZE. Please DO NOT Cut/Copy/Paste this post
© vikram karve., all rights reserved.

Disclaimer:

  1. This story is a fictional spoof, satire, pure fiction, just for fun and humor, no offence is meant to anyone, so take it with a pinch of salt and have a laugh.
  2. All Stories in this Blog are a work of fiction. Events, Places, Settings and Incidents narrated in the stories are a figment of my imagination. The characters do not exist and are purely imaginary. Any resemblance to persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

Copyright Notice:

No part of this Blog may be reproduced or utilized in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical including photocopying or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the Blog Author Vikram Karve who holds the copyright.

Copyright © Vikram Karve (all rights reserved)

Link to my original post in my Blog Academic and Creative Writing Journal Vikram Karve: http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2017/06/memories-of-my-navy-life-my-literary.html

This Story was written by me Vikram Karve around 8 years ago on 18 October 2013 and First Posted Online by me Vikram Karve in my Academic and Creative Writing Journal Blog at10/18/2013 11:39:00 PM at url: http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2013/10/how-to-be-happy-first-step-to-happiness.html and revised and reposted on 08 July 2015 at url:http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2015/07/humor-in-uniform-time-freedom-happiness.html and later at url: http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2015/09/literateur-in-uniform.html and https://karve.wordpress.com/2017/09/28/my-literary-boss-humor-in-uniform/ and http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2016/06/humor-in-uniform-my-literary-boss.html and https://karve.wordpress.com/2021/04/02/humor-in-uniform-my-literary-boss/ etc

© vikram karve., all rights reserved.

Teachers’ Day Blog – The Art of Teaching

September 5, 2021

TEACHERS’ DAY MUSINGS 

“The Art of Teaching” By Vikram Karve

___________

Today – the 5th of September – is Teachers’ Day.

Firstly – let me wish a Very Happy Teachers’ Day to all Teachers – and – of course – to all Students too – for – without students there would be no teachers.

Well – once upon a time – I used to be a Teacher too.

Humor is an important aspect of good teaching – and a good teacher always has a witty sense of humor.

So – on the occasion of Teachers’ Day – let us have a bit of wit and humor.

As a part of my Teachers’ Day Musings – here is a hilarious Story on “The Art of Teaching” – which I am sure will cheer you up – and – also give you food for thought.

___________

THE ART OF TEACHING or HOW TO TEACH

A “Teaching” Story by Vikram Karve

__________

A veteran teacher got bored of the repetitive routine.

One day at the beginning of his first class at the start of the new academic year – he asked his new students:

“Do you know what I am about to teach you…?”

__________

“No, Sir…” all the students responded, “We don’t know what you are about to teach us…”

_________

On hearing this – the teacher said to the students:

“Since you have not even bothered to find out what I am going to teach you – and hence – you do not have the prerequisite background information – there is no point in me trying to teach you…”

_________

And – after uttering this statement – the teacher angrily walked out of the classroom.

_________

The next day – the same teacher came to the class and asked the students:

“Okay – tell me – do you know what I am going to teach you…?”

_________

Thinking of the previous day – and afraid to annoy him again – the students responded:

“Yes, Sir – we know what you are going to teach us…”

_________

On hearing this – the teacher replied to the students:

“If you already know what I am going to teach you – then there is no point in me wasting my time teaching you what you already know…”

_________

And after uttering those words – the teacher stormed out of the classroom.

_________

On the next day – the teacher again came to the classroom – and once again he asked the students:

“Do you know what I am going to teach you…?”

_________

The students – trying to play safe – replied:

“Half of us do – and – half of us don’t…”

_________

On hearing this – the teacher exclaimed:

“Wonderful.

That’s fantastic.

Now the half of you who know can please teach the other half of the class who don’t know…!!!”

_________

And suddenly – without giving the dumbfounded students a chance to recover their wits – the teacher exultantly left the classroom with a flourish.

The subject was deemed to have been taught.

This – in a nutshell – is the art of teaching – a teaching style which many teachers follow – especially in higher education.

__________

Wish You a Happy Teachers’ Day…

__________

VIKRAM KARVE

Copyright © Vikram Karve
1. If you share this post, please give due credit to the author Vikram Karve
2. Please DO NOT PLAGIARIZE. Please DO NOT Cut/Copy/Paste this post
© vikram karve., all rights reserved.

Disclaimer:

  1. This story is a spoof, pure fiction, just for fun and humor, no offence is meant to anyone, so take it with a pinch of salt and have a laugh.
  2. All stories in this blog are a work of fiction. Events, Places, Settings and Incidents narrated in the story are a figment of my imagination. The characters do not exist and are purely imaginary. Any resemblance to persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

Copyright Notice:

No part of this Blog may be reproduced or utilized in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical including photocopying or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the Blog Author Vikram Karve who holds the copyright.

Copyright © Vikram Karve (All Rights Reserved)

This is a repost of my article HOW TO TEACH posted by online earlier at url: http://karvediat.blogspot.com/2016/09/teachers-day-musings-part-1-how-to-teach.html and http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2014/09/teachers-day-musings-part-1-art-of.html and https://karve.wordpress.com/2020/09/04/teachers-day-musings-how-to-teach-story/ etc

© vikram karve., all rights reserved.

Teachers’ Day Blog – How to Teach

September 5, 2021

HOW TO TEACH

Today – the 5th of September – is Teachers’ Day.

On the occasion of Teachers’ Day let me pontificate of HOW TO TEACH – or – more specifically – HOW TO DELIVER A LECTURE

____________

PUBLIC SPEAKING

The Navy taught me plenty of things.

One thing I learnt in the Navy was “Public Speaking”.

In the Navy – an Officer has to frequently address his Sailors and conduct Training – which entails delivering motivational speeches and instructional lectures.

So – Dear Reader – let me give you some tips on Public Speaking – How to Deliver a Speech or Lecture…

____________

HOW TO DELIVER A LECTURE

Story By Vikram Karve 

___________

STORY OF THE MANAGEMENT GURU AND THE COOK

Let me tell you an apocryphal story:

A renowned “Management Guru” entered a large lecture hall to deliver a lecture on “Motivation” to students of a renowned Business School.

To his horror – the Management Guru found that the large hall was empty – except for a young man seated in the front row.

Yes – there was just one man sitting in the huge hall waiting to hear the lecture.

____________

(There had been a goof up and the students were not aware of the lecture in the afternoon – so – they had gone away to their hostels. Only one person was present in the lecture hall. He had been asked to go to the lecture hall and look after the management guru – in case he wanted some tea or refreshments etc.)

____________

The Management Guru asked the man who he was.

“I am a Cook in the College Canteen…” the young man said.

____________

The Management Guru – pondered whether to speak or not.

After some pondering – the Management Guru asked the Cook:

“You are the only one here. 

Do you think I should speak or not…? 

Tell me frankly – should I deliver my lecture or not…?”

____________

The Cook said to the Management Guru:

“Respected Sir – I am a simple man – and – I do not understand these things. 

But – if I came into the Dining Hall – and – if I saw only one man sitting there – I would certainly give him food…”

___________

The Management Guru took the Cook’s insightful answer to heart – and – with full gusto – the Management Guru began to deliver his lecture.

The Management Guru spoke passionately for over two hours – delving in great detail on each and every aspect of the “Theory and Practice of Motivation”.

Immensely proud after his virtuoso performance – the Management Guru felt highly elated – he felt on top of the world – and he wanted his audience to confirm how fantastically illuminating and effective his lecture had been.

___________

So – after delivering his brilliant lecture – the Management Guru pompously asked the Cook:

“How did you like my lecture…?”

___________

The Cook answered:

“Respected Sir – I told you that I am a simple man – and – I do not understand these things very well.

However –  if I came into the Dining Hall – and – if I saw only one man sitting there – I would feed him.

But – I wouldn’t give him all the food that I have prepared in the kitchen….”

___________

While teaching and lecturing – you may have a tendency to talk too much – especially if you are passionate about teaching or the subject of your lecture.

If so – you need to remember this story of the management guru and the cook.

____________

When you teach – you must certainly “feed” the students.

But – you must not try to “feed” them all the “food” that you have in your mind.

__________

Wish You a Happy Teachers’ Day

__________

VIKRAM KARVE

Copyright © Vikram Karve
1. If you share this post, please give due credit to the author Vikram Karve
2. Please DO NOT PLAGIARIZE. Please DO NOT Cut/Copy/Paste this post
© vikram karve., all rights reserved.

Disclaimer:

  1. This is based on my personal experience. It may or may not work for you. So please do due diligence before trying out this technique.
  2. This story is a fictional spoof, satire, pure fiction, just for fun and humor, no offence is meant to anyone, so take it with a pinch of salt and have a laugh.
  3. All Stories in this Blog are a work of fiction. Events, Places, Settings and Incidents narrated in the stories are a figment of my imagination. The characters do not exist and are purely imaginary. Any resemblance to persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

Copyright Notice:

No part of this Blog may be reproduced or utilized in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical including photocopying or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the Blog Author Vikram Karve who holds the copyright.

Copyright © Vikram Karve (all rights reserved)

This Blog Post is a combination of extracts from my notes posted by me online earlier on my various blogs including at urls: https://karvediat.blogspot.in/2013/01/delivering-lecture.html and http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2010/03/how-to-deliver-lecture.html  and https://karvediat.blogspot.in/2012/05/public-speaking-part-3-how-to-speak.html  and  https://karvediat.blogspot.in/2012/05/public-speaking-part-1-how-to-deliver.html and https://karvediat.blogspot.in/2016/09/teachers-day-musings-part-3-how-to.html and http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2012/01/effective-public-speaking-part-2-dos.html and http://karvediat.blogspot.com/2017/09/public-speaking-how-to-deliver-speech.html and  https://karvediat.blogspot.com/2019/01/how-to-deliver-lecture-or-speech.html and https://karve.wordpress.com/2020/01/06/effective-communication-public-speaking-how-to-deliver-a-speech-or-lecture/ etc

© vikram karve., all rights reserved.