Archive for July 17th, 2017

Are “Love” and “Trust” Mutually Exclusive…?

July 17, 2017

Can you Love someone you don’t Trust…?

Can you Trust someone you don’t Love…?

Read this story…

LOVE and TRUST

Short Story By Vikram Karve 

Link to my original post in my Blog Academic and Creative Writing Journal Vikram Karve:  http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2016/08/do-you-love-someone-but-not-trust-herhim.html

“Good Morning…” the HR Head says to the Lady Employee.

“Good Morning, Sir…” the Lady Employee says.

“Please be seated.”

“Thank you, Sir.”

“As the HR Head – it is my duty to advise you regarding a few matters – I hope it is okay if I ask you a few personal questions.”

“Yes, Sir – it is okay – please freely ask me whatever you want to.”

“You got divorced 6 months ago.”

“Yes, Sir.”

“But I see that you have not changed your nomination for provident fund, company group insurance etc – the nominee is still your ex-husband.”

“Yes, Sir.”

“I suggest you change the nomination…”

“No.”

“No…? You don’t wish to change the nomination…?”

“I do not wish to change the nomination – I want my ex-husband be the nominee for all my financial affairs…”

“But why…?”

“Because I trust him – I totally trust my ex-husband.”

“You trust your ex-husband even after divorcing him – that’s amazing…”

“Of course I fully trust my ex-husband. He did not cheat me. I was the one who cheated him by having an extramarital affair – that was the reason for our divorce…”

“Oh…”

My ex-husband was always faithful to me – it was I who was unfaithful to him…”

“But…”

I have full faith in my ex-husband – in fact – he still manages all my financial affairs – my bank accounts – my stocks and mutual funds – my investments – he pays all my bills – everything – I don’t even know how much money I have in the bank – I do not have a clue as to what my investments are – or what bills I have to pay – my ex-husband does everything – just like it was before – when we were married…”

“Really…?”

“Yes – our bank accounts remain the same – including my salary account – and my ex-husband does all the banking and he operates all my accounts – he does everything – he keeps the passbooks – does the internet banking – I do not even know the login and passwords…”

“What are you saying…? It is unbelievable…”

“Yes – we have a safe deposit locker with all my jewellery – he handles that too…”

“All that was fine when you were married to him – it may have been okay when you were just divorced – but now…?”

“But now…?”

“Well – I understand that you have remarried…”

“That is right – I got remarried 3 months ago – I submitted the marriage declaration along with the marriage certificate…”

“Yes – that is why I have called you – to advise you – that you should now put your new husband’s name as the nominee for your provident fund, insurance etc…”

“Is it a compulsion…? Is it mandatory for me to nominate my new husband…?”

“No – No – you are free to nominate whoever you wish – but normally – it is advisable to nominate your “next-of-kin” – which happens to be your spouse – your new husband – so it is my duty to advise you to nominate him…”

“I do not wish to nominate my new husband…”

“But why…?”

“I don’t trust him…”

“What…? You don’t trust your new husband…? Why…?”

“Because he is a cheat…”

“What are you saying – that your new husband is a cheat…?”

“Yes. Like me – my new husband too is a cheat. I cheated on my ex-husband – he cheated on his ex-wife – we had an extramarital affair – we got caught – our spouses divorced us – and then – we two lovers got married…”

“Oh…”

“Tell me – how can I trust a man who was unfaithful to his wife…?”

“If you don’t trust him – why did you marry him…?”

“Because I love him…”

“It’s amazing – you love your new husband – but you don’t trust him…”

“Yes – I love him – but I don’t trust him.”

“So – you do not wish to change your nomination – you wish that your ex-husband is the nominee for all your financial affairs – your provident fund, insurance, bank accounts etc…”

“Yes – I want my ex-husband to be the nominee – I want my ex-husband to look after all my financial affairs…”

“Okay.”

“Sir – I have one request…”

“Yes – go ahead…”

“I hope our conversation will be kept confidential.”

“Of course – you can rest assured that not a word will go outside this room.”

“Thank you, Sir – may I go now…?”

“Yes – thank you for your time – it was a most enlightening conversation…”

“Enlightening conversation…? Sir – what do you mean by that…?”

“I always thought that love and trust meant the same thing. 

I thought that love implies trust.

But now – after talking to you – I have realized that love and trust are not connected with each other.  

You can love someone – but not trust him 

and conversely 

You can trust someone – but not love him…” the HR Head says to the Lady Employee.

“That’s correct, Sir – it is possible for Love and Trust to be mutually exclusive…”

VIKRAM KARVE

Copyright © Vikram Karve
1. If you share this post, please give due credit to the author Vikram Karve
2. Please DO NOT PLAGIARIZE. Please DO NOT Cut/Copy/Paste this post
© vikram karve., all rights reserved.

Disclaimer:

This story is a work of fiction. Events, Places, Settings and Incidents narrated in the story are a figment of my imagination. The characters do not exist and are purely imaginary. Any resemblance to persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

Copyright Notice:

No part of this Blog may be reproduced or utilized in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical including photocopying or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the Blog Author Vikram Karve who holds the copyright.

Copyright © Vikram Karve (all rights reserved)

Link to my original post in my Blog Academic and Creative Writing Journal Vikram Karve:  http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2016/08/do-you-love-someone-but-not-trust-herhim.html

Revised Version of My Story LOVE AND TRUST posted online earlier in my Academic and Creative Writing Journal Vikram Karve Blog on September 28, 2015 at url: http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2015/09/love-and-trust.html  and revised and reposted later on October 27, 2015 at url:  http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2015/10/do-you-trust-your-ex.html and  http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2016/01/do-you-trust-your-lover.html

Woman in the “Nightie” – Romantic Memoir from My Wonderful Navy Days

July 17, 2017

When I joined the Navy more than 40 years ago in the 1970’s – I was a puritanical simpleton – a prudish dope – and – this resulted in some rather amusing incidents.

Here is one such delightful story from those early Navy Days…

HAUTE COUTURE “LINGERIE” – THE “NIGHTIE” 

Romantic Memories of my Wonderful Navy Days

A Fictional Spoof By Vikram Karve 

Link to my original post in my Blog Academic and Creative Writing Journal Vikram Karve: http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2017/07/the-chic-woman-in-haute-couture-lingerie.html

MY SHIPMATE’S GLAMOROUS WIFE

I was – and maybe I still am – an old fashioned prude – and – I am a bit puritanical by nature.

Let me tell you a hilarious anecdote – a result of my rather prudish behaviour – which happened long back when I was in the Navy.

It was the evening of the “Navy Ball” – the much awaited grand finale of the Navy Week in Mumbai (then called Bombay).

It was decided that all ship’s officers who did not live in the Navy Township (NOFRA) would assemble with our wives in the home of a shipmate who lived in NOFRA near the Navy Command Officers Mess – the venue of the Navy Ball.

We could park our scooters/motorcycles near his house.

(Yes – those days most Navy officers had scooters/motorcycles – and could not afford cars)

We would then all walk down to the Command Mess Lawns for the Navy Ball.

Accordingly – my wife and I reached my shipmate’s house half an hour before the commencement of the Navy Ball.

Some officers and wives were already there – some trickled in – and our shipmate had generously opened a bottle of rum – and told us to help ourselves while they got dressed.

My shipmate came out of his bedroom smartly dressed in the distinctive Navy Uniform Dress No. 6 – “Monkey Jacket” – Bow Tie – Miniature Medals – Cummerbund – and all.

He said that his wife was getting ready.

It was almost time for the Navy Ball.

We were anxiously waiting for his wife to get ready.

After some time the bedroom door opened – and my shipmate’s wife stepped out.

I was most disappointed to see that she had still not got ready.

“What is this – Ma’am…? The Navy Ball is about to start and you are still in your underwear…?” I blurted out.

“Underwear…? my shipmate’s wife said – looking at me with an expression of total shock.

I realized my mistake – so I said to her:

“Sorry – I meant to say “Lingerie. We are getting late and you are still in your lingerie”…”

“Lingerie”…? she gasped in astonishment – it seemed as if she was even more stunned.

Maybe – I had used the wrong word again – so I corrected myself – and I said to her:

“Actually – I meant to say “Nightie”…

When she heard the word “Nightie” – I could see her shock turn into anger.

She was looking at me with blazing eyes.

She pointed towards the skimpy dress she was wearing – and she shouted at me:

“You are calling this a “Nightie”…? This is a haute couture designer dress. Do you know how much money I spent on this exclusive custom-made dress…? 

“Haute Couture…?” I mumbled.

I had never heard the term “haute couture” before.

I looked at my shipmate’s wife with regret in my eyes – and – I put on a contrite expression on my face.

She was looking at me in a strange sort of way – as if thinking something in her mind.

After some time – I saw the expression on her face change from anger into anxiety.

And soon – the expression on the face of my shipmate’s wife changed drastically – from anxiety – her expression changed into one of panic.

My shipmate’s wife looked at my wife – then – she looked at the other ladies – and my shipmate’s wife said in panic:

“Tell me – is this dress really looking so bad…?”

After that – my shipmate’s wife burst into tears – and she ran back into her bedroom.

The fact of the matter was that my shipmate’s wife was very chic, stylish and fashionable.

She had got this most fashionable skimpy western style dress exclusively “made-to-order” from a top designer (“haute couture”) especially for the Navy Ball.

Being an old-fashioned simpleton prude – I thought my shipmate’s wife was wearing a “Nightie”.

I did not realize that it was not a “nightie” that she was wearing – but an exclusive haute couture latest fashion skimpy dress – which she had got specially made for her by a leading fashion designer.

My wife gave me a glaring look and she told me to disappear – lest I say or do something even more stupid – that would further aggravate matters.

Then – my wife and the other ladies went inside to console my shipmate’s wife.

It was decided that all the gentlemen would proceed for the Navy Ball – and – the ladies would join later.

I apologized to my shipmate:

“I am very sorry – I did not mean to insult your wife.”

“Oh, come on – forget it…” my shipmate said, “In fact – after hearing your comments – I almost burst out laughing myself.”

“But your wife must be angry with me…?” I said.

“Don’t worry – she’ll be okay – she spent a fortune on that designer dress – that is why she is so upset…” he said.

Later – the ladies joined us in the Navy Ball.

My shipmate’s wife was the centre of attraction in her “haute couture” skimpy fashionable dress.

Indeed – she looked very sexy in her alluring dress.

I wanted to apologize to her for my earlier “faux pas for calling her lovely “haute couture” dress a “nightie”.

I wanted to tell my shipmate’s wife that she looked very sexy in her exquisite new dress.

But – my wife had given me strict instructions to keep my mouth shut.

So – I kept my mouth shut – and – I did not compliment my shipmate’s wife on how chic and glamorous she was looking in her gorgeous “haute couture” dress.

EPILOGUE

Many years later – my wife was shopping in the Ladies’ Garments Section of a famous Mall in Pune.

I was just hanging around.

Suddenly – I saw the same chic and fashionable lady – my ex-shipmate’s glamorous “haute couture” wife – standing near me.

Yes – it was the same lady who had worn the “haute couture” skimpy fashionable dress to the Navy Ball (which I thought was a “Nightie” and had even called “Lingerie”)

She looked as fashionable and tip-top as ever.

She recognised me.

I wished her.

She smiled back.

“My wife is in the trial room…” I said.

“Oh…? I must meet her…” she said.

I looked at elegant “haute couture” lady – and I said to her:

“Ma’am – I want to ask you a favour…”

“Sure…” she said.

I pointed to the colourful “nighties” hanging nearby on a rack – and I said to her:

“Ma’am – if you don’t mind – can you please help me select a “Nightie” for my wife – she likes “half nighties” – short “nighties” – like these “nighties” over here on this rack…”

My ex-shipmate’s stylish “haute couture” wife burst out laughing – and she said to me:

These are not short “Nighties” – these are “Kurties”  or “Tops – but – they are certainly not “Nighties” – and – by the way – these are not “Lingerie either – Ha Ha – so many years have passed – but you are still as clueless as ever – aren’t you…?”

I smiled at her.

She started laughing.

I joined her in her laughter.

I knew that she had forgiven me for my “faux pas on that Navy Ball Evening – many years ago.

VIKRAM KARVE

Copyright © Vikram Karve
1. If you share this post, please give due credit to the author Vikram Karve
2. Please DO NOT PLAGIARIZE. Please DO NOT Cut/Copy/Paste this post
© vikram karve., all rights reserved.

Disclaimer:

  1. This story is a fictional spoof, satire, pure fiction, just for fun and humor, no offence is meant to anyone, so take it with a pinch of salt and have a laugh.
  2. All Stories in this Blog are a work of fiction. Events, Places, Settings and Incidents narrated in the stories are a figment of my imagination. The characters do not exist and are purely imaginary. Any resemblance to persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

Copyright Notice:

No part of this Blog may be reproduced or utilized in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical including photocopying or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the Blog Author Vikram Karve who holds the copyright.

Copyright © Vikram Karve (all rights reserved)

Link to my original post in my Blog Academic and Creative Writing Journal Vikram Karve: http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2017/07/the-chic-woman-in-haute-couture-lingerie.html

Updated Re-Post of my Story titled FAUX PAS First Posted by me Vikram Karve in my Academic and Creative Writing Journal Blog in April 2014 at 4/26/2014 08:09:00 PM at url: http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2014/04/faux-pas-hilarious-memories-of-my.html and in Nov 2014 at url: http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2014/11/my-shipmates-chic-wife-hilarious.html and http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2015/06/humor-in-uniform-chic-haute-couture.html and http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2016/01/nightie.html  andhttp://karvediat.blogspot.in/2016/08/poodlefaking-haute-couture-navy-wife.html and https://karvediat.blogspot.in/2016/11/haute-couture-lingerie-nightie.html etc

“Made For Each Other” Couple

July 17, 2017

“MADE FOR EACH OTHER” COUPLE

A Love Story By Vikram Karve 

Link to my original post in my Blog Academic and Creative Writing Journal Vikram Karve: http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2017/07/the-made-for-each-other-couple.html

Her name was Riya.

His name was Rohan.

They – Riya and Rohan – they were a “made-for-each-other” couple.

I am not saying this just because they won the “made-for-each-other couple contest”.

Yes – we had a “made-for-each-other” couple contest during the Annual Day Celebrations in our Residential Society – a cosmopolitan gated community.

All couples had to participate – and – Riya and Rohan had easily won the contest.

It was a simple contest.

First – all couples had to walk on the ramp – like a fashion show.

10 couples were selected from this round for the “Question-Answer” round.

These 10 couples were asked 10 questions each – the usual “guessing game” stuff about how well they knew each other – about likes/dislikes, events/dates, etc. – including one “intimate” question.

Riya and Rohan had won the “made-for-each-other couple contest” – and most deservingly so.

Yes – Riya and Rohan were easily the best-looking couple on the ramp.

And – Riya and Rohan were the only couple who had each answered all questions correctly.

After Riya and Rohan won the “made-for-each-other couple contest” – I began to observe them a bit more closely – and – I saw that – in real life too – Riya and Rohan were truly a “made-for-each-other” couple.

I have never seen a couple so devoted to each other and in perfect harmony with each other.

Riya and Rohan were perfectly compatible with each other – in all aspects – and – I felt jealous of them.

One evening – after my evening walk – I stopped by at my favorite café – for a cup my customary “post-walk” cup of tea.

I saw Riya and Rohan seated at a table.

They greeted me – and – they asked me to join them.

“Are you sure you want me to join you…?” I said, “I don’t want to be a “Kabab-Me-Haddi” and spoil your “lovey-dovey” quality time…”

“Oh, come on, Uncle…” Riya said, “We two have been together for 10 years now…”

“You two still look like honeymooners – so much in love with each other…” I said.

“Thank you, Uncle…” Riya said.

Their snacks arrived.

Rohan and Riya insisted that I eat with them.

As I saw Riya eating – I suddenly remembered that it was “Karva Chauth” – so – I said to Riya:

“Hey – today is “Karwa Chauth” – you are supposed to “fast” – isn’t it…?”

“Why…?” she asked me.

“Well – all married women fast from sunrise to moonrise for the safety, well-being, prosperity and longevity of their husbands – didn’t you know…?”

“Of course I know about “Karwa Chauth”…” Riya said.

“In fact – there is a “women-only” ceremony on our society rooftop terrace – all married women are attending – in fact – the function must have already started – didn’t you get the circular…?” I asked her.

“I saw the circular…” Riya said.

“Then why aren’t you attending the celebration – all married women are attending – even my wife was getting all decked-up to go there…” I said.

“I am not married …” Riya said, “the function is for “married women” – but – I am not married…”

I was dumbstruck.

Seeing the bewilderment on my face – Rohan said:

“Uncle – we – Riya and Me – we are not married – we are just living together…”

“Living together…? For 10 years…?” I asked.

“Yes…” Riya said.

“Haven’t you thought of taking your relationship to the next level…?”

“Next level…? What do you mean by “taking a relationship to the “next level”…?”

“By “next level” – I mean “marriage”. Haven’t you thought of getting married to each other – to convert your “live-in relationship” into a marriage…?”

“What’s the point…? We are very happy in our present relationship – it’s truly wonderful. And, Uncle – you tell me – the very fact that we won the “made-for-each-other couple contest” bears testimony to our “perfect” relationship” – isn’t it…?”

“Yes…” I said, “You two are the best “made for each other” couple I have ever seen – I have never ever seen a couple so perfectly in harmony with each other like you two – perfectly matched and totally devoted to each other.

“Yes, Uncle – we have a beautiful relationship – exquisite and full of joy. Our “live-in” arrangement is working so marvelously for 10 long years – so – why tinker with something that is working so well…? Why should we ruin our beautiful relationship by taking it to the “next level” – as you put it…? Why try to fix something that ain’t broke…?”

VIKRAM KARVE

Copyright © Vikram Karve
1. If you share this post, please give due credit to the author Vikram Karve
2. Please DO NOT PLAGIARIZE. Please DO NOT Cut/Copy/Paste this post
© vikram karve., all rights reserved.

Disclaimer:

  1. This story is a fictional spoof, satire, pure fiction, just for fun and humor, no offence is meant to anyone, so take it with a pinch of salt and have a laugh.
  2. All stories in this blog are a work of fiction. Events, Places, Settings and Incidents narrated in the stories are a figment of my imagination. The characters do not exist and are purely imaginary. Any resemblance to persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

Copyright Notice:

No part of this Blog may be reproduced or utilized in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical including photocopying or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the Blog Author Vikram Karve who holds the copyright.

Copyright © Vikram Karve (all rights reserved)

Link to my original post in my Blog Academic and Creative Writing Journal Vikram Karve: http://karvediat.blogspot.in/2017/07/the-made-for-each-other-couple.html