BYO / BYOB (Bring Your Own Booze) / BYOF (Bring Your Own Food)

BYO – BYOB / BYOF

BYO / BYOB (Bring Your Own Booze) restaurants in New Zealand reminded me of our Navy Bachelor Days when we carried our Booze with us in “Hip Flasks” – especially when we went out in the evenings in Mumbai (then called Bombay).

Of course – since there was no BYOB concept – there was no “corkage” either – and we had a “swig” straight “down-the-hatch” from the Hip-Flask – or added a “slug” to the glass of water served with food – as appropriate.

After I got married – my “hip flask” mysteriously vanished – and – instead of BYOB (Bring Your Own Booze) – I had to resort to BYOF (Bring Your Own Food).

In view of the “outstanding” culinary skills of my “Better Half” – whenever I invited friends over for dinner – I would tell them: “Please BYOF (Bring Your Own Food) – I have plenty of Booze in the house – so there is no need to BYOB – but please BYOF…”

Now – after retirement – there is no booze in my house – so – if I invite you for dinner – you will have to do both – BYOB and BYOF

So – when are you coming for dinner…?

1 Comment »

  1. 1

    A super cool concept, Sir. Next time, I should try this one and make it abundant food cum book. Happy Makar Sankranti,

    Like


RSS Feed for this entry

Please comment. I appreciate your feedback.

